Sherburn Hungate Primary School

Learning through experience.


North Crescent, Sherburn-in-Elmet, Leeds, North Yorkshire, LS25 6DD


The Sherburn Hungate Community Primary School Governing Body is made up of XXX governors.  These include


  • the headteacher (ex officio)
  • one staff governor (elected based on the school leadership audit)
  • 1 Local Authority appointed governor
  • 5 parent governors (elected by parents)
  • 8 community governors (co-opted by the Governing Body)


All governors, with the exception of the headteacher, are appointed for a four year term. The Clerk to the Governing Body, Paul Gregory, supports the governors in an administrative and advisory capacity. When parent governor vacancies arise, details on the nomination process are sent to all parents in the school.

The governing body is responsible for the conduct of our school, and must promote high standards of educational achievement at the school. It is the school’s accountable body and as such: 

  • provides a strategic view of the school by establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school within an agreed policy framework. It appoints and performance manages the headteacher, agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes setting statutory targets with supporting budgets and staffing structures;
  • monitors and evaluates the work of the school by reviewing the performance of the headteacher, the effectiveness of the policy framework, progress towards targets, and the effectiveness of the school improvement strategy; 
  • signs off the self evaluation process and responds to school improvement service and Ofsted reports as necessary. In addition it holds the headteacher to account for the performance of the school and ensures that parents are involved, consulted and informed as appropriate, with information to the community being made available as required.

Governing Body Groups/Committees 2017-2018


Complaints Committee Appeals Committee Headteacher Review Committee
Claire Sutton (Chair) David Catton (Chair) Peter Ball
Bruce Scriven Kelly Summersgill Bruce Scriven
Peter Ball Jenny Prescott Donna Makepeace (Advisor)


Finance, Personnel & Staffing Committee Curriculum & Policy Review Committee Health & Safety/Premises Committee
David Catton Sian Ball/Bobbi Horner David Catton
Claire Sutton Martyn Broom Sian Ball/Bobbi Horner
Martyn Broom Jenny Prescott Martyn Broom
Jenny Prescott Kelly Summersgill Jenny Prescott
Bruce Scriven Paul Gregory (Clerk) Christine Sterry
Peter Ball
Kelly Summersgill
Paul Gregory (Clerk)

Other Committees

 Claire Sutton, Jenny Prescott & Peter Ball are members of the Pay Review, Staff Disciplinary/Dismissal and Pupil Discipline Sub Committee.

David Catton, Martin Otter & Kelly Summersgill are members of the Pay Review Appeals, Staff Disciplinary/Dismissal Appeals & Pupil Discipline Appeals Committees.


Governors with Key Areas of Responsibility

Claire Sutton is the lead governor for Safeguarding.

Kelly Summersgill is the lead governor for Key Stage 1 & the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Claire Sutton is the lead governor for Key Stage 2.

Bruce Scriven is the lead governor for Pupil Groups.

Jenny Prescott is the lead governor for the Junior Leadership Team.

Governor Business/Financial Interests
Name Finance Interest Business Interest Details
Claire Sutton None Yes Headteacher at another school
Bruce Scriven None Yes Governor at another school
Kelly Summersgill Yes Yes Childcare Provider at Sherburn Hungate
Jenny Prescott None Yes Local Parish Councilor
Peter Ball None Yes Governor at another school
David Catton None Yes Local Businessman
Contact the Chair of Governors - Mrs Claire Sutton

You can contact our Chair of Governors, Mrs Claire Sutton, by telephoning the main school office on 01977 682434.  Alternatively you can email